2017 Sports Awards Winners

New Zealand Rural Sportsman of the Year Award

Rowland Smith
For 2016, Rowland Smith is the reigning World Champion and won a remarkable 23 open titles throughout the country. The Hasting’s shearer is also the reigning Golden Shears, Hilux New Zealand Speed Shear and New Zealand Open Champion; and in 2016 received the honour of Master Shearer.

New Zealand Rural Sportswoman of the Year Award

Morinsville aborist Chrissy Spence

Morinsville aborist Chrissy Spence has taken her tree climbing talents to the top of the world winning the International Tree Climbing Championship in 2016. It is her fourth world title and she is also the reigning Asia Pacific Tree Climbing Champion.


Young New Zealand Rural Sportsperson of the Year Award

Jack Jordan

Jack Jordan is quickly making a name for himself in the sport of wood chopping. The Taranaki youngster shone in 2016 winning three underhand open wood chopping world titles which for a youth axeman is an amazing achievement.

Contribution to the Rural Sports Industry

Whangarei’s Lance Waddell

Whangarei’s Lance Waddell has served shearing in NZ for almost 50 years and Shearing Sports NZ for more than 30 years as a judge, supplier of shearing plant and as a leader of the Shearing Sports NZ electronic points system scoring team. He has been involved with the points scoring system since 1985 and attends 14 competitions each season, setting up and operating the timing equipment non-stop throughout the competitions. His outstanding dedication and many hours of volunteer work over many years thoroughly deserves this award.

Subscribe to our Newsetter